Battle for the Island Kingdom

England's Destiny 1000–1066

Battle for the Island Kingdom cover

Battle for the Island Kingdom

England's Destiny 1000–1066


A rich history of the years leading up to 1066 when Vikings, Anglo-Saxons and Normans vied for the English crown. A tale of loyalty, treason and military might.

In a saga reminiscent of Game of Thrones and The Last Kingdom, Battle for the Island Kingdom reveals the life-and-death struggle for power which changed the course of history. The six decades leading up to 1066 were defined by bloody wars and intrigues, in which three peoples vied for supremacy over the island kingdom. In this epic retelling, Don Hollway (The Last Viking) recounts the clashes of Vikings, Anglo-Saxons and Normans, their warlords and their conniving queens.

It begins with the Viking Cnut the Great, forging three nations into his North Sea Empire while his Saxon wife Aelfgifu rules in his stead and schemes for England's throne. Her archenemy is Emma of Normandy, widow of Saxon king Aethelred, claiming Cnut's realm in exchange for her hand in marriage. Their sons become rivals, pawns in their mothers' wars until they can secure their own destinies. And always in the shadows is Godwin of Wessex, playing all sides to become the power behind the throne until his son Harold emerges as king of all of England.

But Harold's brother Tostig turns traitor, abandons the Anglo-Saxons and joins the army of the last great Viking, Harald Hardrada, where together they meet their fate at the battle of Stamford Bridge. And all this time watching from across the water is William, the Bastard, fighting to secure his own Norman dukedom, but with an eye on the English crown.

Table of Contents

(Subject to confirmation)
Part One: House of Knýtlinga - the Founding and Fate of the North Sea Empire
I. Invaders
II. Vengeance of the Danes
III. Viking Conquest
IV. Cnut
V. Godwin of Wessex
VI. Harold of Wessex
VII. North Sea Empire
VIII. Power Struggle
IX. Harefoot
X. Harthacnut

Part Two: House of Wessex - From the Crowning of Edward to the Death of Edward
XI. Earls of England
XII. Wayward Son
XIII. Normans
XIV. Exiles
XV. Conquerors
XVI. Earl of Wessex
XVII. Normandy
XVIII. Rebellion

Part Three: House of Godwin - Anointing of Harold to Hastings and Aftermath
XIX. King of England
XX. First Invasion
XXI. Waiting Game
XXII. Return of the Vikings
XXIII. Stamford Bridge
XXIV. The Norman Invasion
XXV. Hastings
XXVI. Epilogue


Product details

Published Nov 09 2023
Format Ebook (Epub & Mobi)
Edition 1st
Extent 352
ISBN 9781472858917
Imprint Osprey Publishing
Illustrations 8-page plate section in colour
Series General Military
Short code GNM
Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing

About the contributors


Don Hollway

Don Hollway is an author, illustrator, and histori…


Book Vote

Tell us what titles you would like to see published by Osprey, then vote for your favourites in our monthly book vote!

Related Titles

Sign up for Osprey membership for access to thousands of plane profiles, maps, battle scenes and more. Plus up to 30% off website purchases

Free US delivery on orders $35 or over