Red Eagles

Red Eagles

America’s Secret MiGs

General Aviation
  • Author: Steve Davies
  • Short code: GNA
  • Publication Date: 10 Sep 2008
  • Number of Pages: 352
Users in the USA and Canada please select your location at the top of this page to see prices in your currency. Users in the UK and the Rest of the World will be billed in GBP.

Availability: In stock

Please tick the formats you would like to buy:


Out of stock

eBook (ePub)
eBook (PDF)
Bundle Offer! Choose a print and eBook format above and get 25% off both!
About our eBooks

About this Product

From the mid-1960s until the end of the Cold War, the United States Air Force acquired and flew Russian-made MiG jets, eventually creating a secret squadron dedicated to exposing American fighter pilots to enemy MiGs. In this program, MiGs were secretly acquired and made air-worthy, before selected ace pilots were trained to fly the assets as they were flown by America's enemies. This book tells the fascinating story of the Red Eagles, using recently declassified information and firsthand accounts from the pilots who took part in the program.

Biographical Note

Steve Davies is a military aviation photojournalist based in Cambridge, England. He has authored ten critically acclaimed books and co-authored five more, and he's written for the world's leading monthly, quarterly and partwork aviation publications.


Foreword by General J Jumper Introduction Part 1: Acquiring ‘The Assets' Chapter 1: Have MiGs, 1968-1969 - Chapter 2: A Genesis for the Red Eagles, 1972-77 - Part 2: Laying the Ground Work Chapter 3: Constant Peg and Tonopah, 1977-79 Chapter 4: The Red Eagles' First Days and the Early MiGs, 1979-81 Chapter 5: The ‘Flogger' Arrives, 1980 Chapter 6: Gold Wings and the Admiral, 1981 Part 3: Expanded Exposures and Red Flag, 1982-85 - Chapter 7: The Fatalists, 1982 Chapter 8: Postai's Crash Chapter 9: Exposing the TAF, 1983 Chapter 10: ‘The Air Force is Coming', 1984 Chapter 11: From Black to Gray, 1985 Part 4: The Final Years, 1986-88 - Chapter 12: Increasing Blue Air Exposures, 1986 Chapter 13: ‘Red Country', 1987 Chapter 14: Arrival Shows, 1988 Postscript Endnotes Appendices Glossary Index

You may also be interested in the following product(s)