Red Eagles

Red Eagles

America’s Secret MiGs

General Aviation
  • Author: Steve Davies
  • Short code: GNA
  • Publication Date: 20 Jan 2012
  • Number of Pages: 400
Users in the USA and Canada please select your location at the top of this page to see prices in your currency. Users in the UK and the Rest of the World will be billed in GBP.

Availability: In stock

Please tick the formats you would like to buy:


Out of stock

eBook (ePub)
eBook (PDF)
Bundle Offer! Choose a print and eBook format above and get 25% off both!
About our eBooks

About this Product

From the mid-1960s until the end of the Cold War, the United States Air Force acquired and flew Russian-made MiG jets, eventually creating a secret squadron dedicated to exposing American fighter pilots to enemy MiGs. In this program, MiGs were secretly acquired and made air-worthy, before selected ace pilots were trained to fly the assets as they were flown by America's enemies. This book tells the fascinating story of the Red Eagles, using recently declassified information and firsthand accounts from the pilots who took part in the program.

Biographical Note

Steve Davies is a freelance military and commercial aviation photojournalist based in Cambridge, England. He began writing in 2001, and has since authored six critically acclaimed books and co-authored three more. His freelance writing includes a plethora of articles penned for the world's leading monthly and quarterly aviation publications, and he has also worked on a range of aviation 'partwork' magazines that have sold millions of copies globally. He has also worked as a subject matter expert for a range of military aviation documentaries commissioned by terrestrial television channels in the UK and North America, and by the History Channel. His photography has been used not only by the aviation press, but also by leading defence contractors and aviation corporations.


Foreword by General J Juniper (ret.), Chief of Staff of the United States Air Force, 2001-05
Part 1: Acquiring "The Assets”: Chapter 1: HAVE MiGs, 1968-69
Chapter 2: A Genesis for the Red Eagles, 1972-77
Part 2: Laying the Ground Work: Chapter 3: CONSTANT PEG and Tonopah, 1977-79
Chapter 4: The Red Eagles' First Days and the Early MiGs
Chapter 5: The "Flogger” Arrives, 1980
Chapter 6: Gold Wings, 1981
Part 3: Expanded Exposures and Red Flag, 1982-85: Chapter 7: The Fatalists, 1982
Chapter 8: Postai's Crash
Chapter 9: Exposing the TAF, 1983
Chapter 10: "The Air Force is Coming”, 1984
Chapter 11: From Black to Gray, 1985
Part 4: The Final Years, 1986-88: Chapter 12: Increasing Blue Air Exposures, 1986
Chapter 13: "Red Country”, 1987
Chapter 14: Arrival Shows, 1988

You may also be interested in the following product(s)