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What happens to an infantry unit aboard a Transport if the vehicle
is destroyed?

For passengers in destroyed vehicles, follow the rules for units in
a destroyed building — becoming Suppressed (see pages 48—49 of
the Xenos Rampant rulebook).

The Technical upgrade for Soft-Skin Vehicles is given in the unit
entry as +2 points, but several of the sample detachments seem to
imply it's only a +1-point upgrade. Which is correct?

It should be a 2-point upgrade. The sample detachments were
written early on and then revised as rules got tweaked here and
there. Inevitably, a few changes got missed.

When a vehicle Moves and Shoots as a single activation, it may do so
in either order, and an activation test is required for success. Is this a
Move activation test or a Shoot activation test?

The activation test for the combined Move and Shoot is always
an ordered Move activation test.

Following on from the above, does the activation test occur before
either action takes place, or does it take place before the Move
action? For example, if [ were to Shoot and then Move, when do I
take the activation test?

The test is taken before either action; if it is failed, then neither
action takes place.

Do Wild Charge units transported in a vebicle have to test, as
the only action a transported vebicle can take is to Move (i.e.

disembark)?

No. While carried inside a vehicle, Wild Charging units don’t
have to make Wild Charge tests. The unit’s aggression is as
(temporarily) contained as its troops.

FREE ACTIONS AND ORDERED
ACTIVATIONS

Can a unit take a Free Action in addition to a regular ordered
activation?

No. The ‘free’ in ‘Free Action’ refers only to not having to make
an activation test.

Why do units have an activation value given in their Free Actions?

Some circumstances, detailed in various parts of the rules,
require an activation test for an action to take place, even if it
would normally be a Free Action. This activation value is the
number that needs to be rolled on those occasions.

Remind me, what is an ‘ordered activation”?

It’s an action that requires an activation test in order to carry
out. Failure results in the end of your turn. Essentially, unlike
rallying, Wild Charges or Free Actions, it’s an action that you, as
the commander, need to order your troops to do before they’ll
give it a go.

UNIT OPTIONS, SPECIAL
RULES AND XENO RULES

Can Mechanoid be combined with other options or xeno rules (e.g.
Fearful) that reduce a units Courage?

No, not if you want a second game against the same opponent.
In general, if a unit option or xeno rule reimburses you points
(i.e. has a negative points value), but has no effect due to other
factors, then you can’t claim the points back.

When Greater or Lesser Xenomorphs are upgraded with Xenomorph
Ranged Attack, they don'’t get the ability to Firefight; is this
intentional?

It is intentional. Xenomorph ranged weapons tend to be

things like bio-plasma vomit, spine launchers, or complicated
collections of symbiotes, none of which suggest the intense back-
and-forth gunfire of a Firefight.

Some infantry units have Shoot as a Free Action; how does this
impact on Stabilised Weaponry, where theyre required to roll for a
Move activation?

As with vehicles moving and firing as one activation, this is an
ordered Move activation, so always requires a roll.

The psychic power Guiding Eye allows you to re-roll the affected
units failed Shoot rolls. Does this mean Shoot activation tests, or the
actual rolls to hit?

It’s the roll to hit, not the activation test.

Hard to Target: When targeted by shooting with the Engulfing or
Area of Effect rules, does the unit still get Armour 2?

Yes.

If a unit fails a Wild Charge activation test, can it take any other
action?

No.

Does the Sniper Team upgrade for Recon Infantry override the
second stipulation for choosing a target on page 617 (Can you ignore
a target capable of Attacking the Recon Infantry in favour of a more
distant target?)

No.

Contagious: Does it affect Mechanoids?

By the letter of the rules, yes. If you and your opponent agree
though, you could exclude Mechanoids from healing Contagious
units.

Anti-Tank: Does this round up or down in the case of odd numbers?

As per page 44, all fractions in Xenos Rampant are rounded down
except when otherwise specified.

Can you use Fire Support to target a unit that has Hard to Target or
Cloaking Device, if you have line of sight but are further away than
1287

No.

Increased Squad Size: If; for example, a Heavy Infantry unit with
Increased Squad Size is reduced to half and now rolls with five dice,
does it continue to hit on 5+?

Yes.
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SCENARIOS

MISCELLANEOUS

Scenario India: Diversion: I don’t understand the victory conditions.

The Defender doesn’t want to leave their half of the board, for
whatever reason (sentry duty, holding the line, prior orders,

and so on). However, it appears to them that the Attackers are
threatening to capture whatever the objective markers represent,
so they have to move troops into the Attacker’s half of the board
to deny them to the enemy. This is the only way they can gain
Victory Points.

Of course, the Attacker isn’t trying to capture the objectives, but
instead lure the enemy into engaging them. The entire battle is
a feint. As such, the Attacker gains Victory Points for ‘tricking’
Defenders into leaving their posts to capture objectives they
aren't interested in, while killing a few of them can't hurt either.

When a scenario says that a unit must escape off the edge of the
table, must all models be able to leave the table or only a single
model?

As with units retreating off the table, if one model leaves the
table, then the entire unit is removed.

FIREFIGHTS

A unit is fired on by Support Infantry using another unit as Spotters.
Can the targeted unit use Firefight against the Spotters, as theyre the
unit allowing the action to take place?

No. Firefight is immediate retaliation against people trying to
shoot you, rather than a tactical decision.

Can Firefights be triggered when fired at from beyond the range that
the unit rolling for the Firefight can shoot? Can Firefights take place
at extreme range?

No to both parts of that question. As per page 59, if the unit
taking the Shoot action is within the range listed on the target
unit’s Shoot Value stat (i.e. not extreme range), it can attempt a
Firefight reaction. (For example, Light Infantry could attempt a
Firefight reaction to fire incoming from a distance of 18” or less,
but not from further away.)

Firefights are short-range, chaotic affairs, rather than the
opportunistic shots of firing at extreme range. It’s fair enough
to pin down enemy troops using longer range firepower so
that they can’t hurt your guys, but there’s a mechanic for that:
Courage tests and Suppression.

On page 71, under ‘Units unable to Retreat the full distance
required, theres a reference to removing models as additional
casualties. How does this impact on Reduced Model or Single Model
Units?

Oops. This is a typo. Xenos Rampant measures a unit’s health in
Strength Points, not models. Replace that reference to ‘models’
with ‘Strength Points’.

If I score hits on an enemy unit in Shooting or Attacks, but it fewer
hits than the units Armour, does that cause any damage at all?

No. You need to cause at least as many hits as the unit's Armour
to cause Strength Point loss.

The exception is Undead units during Attacks; in that case,
‘spare’ hits are rounded up to cause the loss of a Strength Point.
This includes when you roll fewer hits than the Undead unit’s
Armour.

Do units that Attack a building have to fall back when it is not
destroyed?

Yes. Think about it as being the unit regrouping and looking for
a weak spot before trying again.

Does the 3” unit cobesion distance increase for larger units? E.g.
units with the Mob option can have 15 bases and it would be
impossible to fit those all within 37 of a single figure.

No. It might get crowded, but assuming they’re mounted

on 25mm round bases, you can fit fourteen other models
within 3” of the cohesion model. You may well struggle with
confining scenery, or larger bases, in which case you and your
opponent will need to make a common-sense agreement that it’s
impossible for that unit to maintain cohesion. At worst, your
models will be crammed base-to-base over a slightly larger area
than that 3” radius from the central figure.

How does the computation of Armour with both multiplicative and
additive modifiers work? For example, when firing at an Armour

6 vehicle, at extreme range, with an Anti-Tank weapon, is the
modified Armour 3 (6+1 = 7, divided by two and rounded down),
or is it Armour 4 (6 divided by two, plus 1?)

The short answer is that the second example is correct.

The long answer takes you back to high school, where you

were probably taught PEMDAS in your Math class if you're
American, or BODMAS in your Maths class, if you're not.
Whichever mnemonic you've long ago forgotten until now,
multiplication and division come before addition or subtraction.

And, as a reminder, in Xenos Rampant, fractions are always
rounded down.




