World War II Medal of Honor Recipients (1)

Navy & USMC

World War II Medal of Honor Recipients (1) cover


The Medal of Honor is the highest military award that can be bestowed on personnel in the United States' Armed Forces. This book is the first of two titles looking at the recipients of the Medal of Honor during World War II (1939-1945). It covers Navy and Marine Corps awardees in all theaters of war, from the attack on Pearl Harbor in 1941 to the brutal fighting on Iwo Jima in 1945. Among the inspiring stories told are those of Signalman 1st Class Douglas Munro, the only Coast Guardsman to ever receive the Medal of Honor, and Commander Antrim, who faced almost certain death to save fellow prisoners in a Japanese prisoner of war camp.

Table of Contents

Introduction · Medal history · Biographies - Cassin Young, Richard Antrim, John Bulkeley, John Powers, Douglas Munro, John Cromwell, Lt Albert, David McCampbell, Richard O'Kane, Elmer Bigelow, Joseph O'Callahan, Francis Pierce, John Basilone, Jefferson Deblanc, Alexander Bonnyman, 1st Lt Hawkins,

Product details

Published Jul 23 2003
Format Paperback
Edition 1st
Extent 64
ISBN 9781841766133
Imprint Osprey Publishing
Illustrations 51 b/w; 10 col
Dimensions 248 x 184 mm
Series Elite
Short code ELI 92
Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing

About the contributors


Ramiro Bujeiro

Ramiro Bujeiro has become a frequent and popular…


Book Vote

Tell us what titles you would like to see published by Osprey, then vote for your favourites in our monthly book vote!

Related Titles

Sign up for Osprey membership for access to thousands of plane profiles, maps, battle scenes and more. Plus up to 30% off website purchases